• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Seems I've caught something...

Somekind of malware virus? I dunno. I'm just a novice
    user with not much clue about this...

SO anyway, I came home from work last night. Tired, so I
    just get to the computer for emails and messages. Tell my
    brother to get off the computer so I can use it.

Then I noticed...
    A whole mess load of desktop icons of trail offers, casio games,
    "anti-virus" offers and etc. My little brother says he did "something"
    and I was furious.

I delete all the icons and then go to control panel to get rid of
    them permently from there, the problem is, my control panel
    is not there anymore...

So I go firefox to look up for whats wrong. THEN firefox couldnt
    open and a alert window says "... has failed to start because
    firefox was not found. Re-installing the program may fix this
    problem."

Then a whole crap load of pop ups appear in less than a second
    after that alert window popped up. Computer frezzes for a while, so
    I "ctrl alt del" but another alert window pops up and says "... must
    be an administrator to use the task manager"

So not being an admistrator of my OWN computer, seems like I
    cant change any file. I cant even reboot the junk. After my move,
    I have no clue where the reboot cd even is. So I use Internet Explorer
    which happens to work fine but pop ups coming out the ass appear.

I DL a anti virus program from here, but then every time Im in the
    process of installing it, it closes randomly and I have to start the
    process all over again. which never works.

So I fiddle around here and there. Nothing, plus I'm tired and pissed
    and decided to call it a night and try again tomorrow. I ask my little
    brother what he did last night. Of course a "IDUNNO" answer appears
    and I hold back from yelling since its "too early in the morning"

Help me here...

And this is why you don't let non computer literate family members use your PC.