PDA

View Full Version : wierd ping?



{CLR}geneSW
5th Dec 2007, 01:18 AM
This is really odd because of the massive jump in ping in one hop. Anybody know why? Here's the tracert. *=ip address that I know or aren't relevant.

tracert 63.133.60.2

1 1ms <1ms <1ms (Router I.P.)
2 * * * Request Timed out.
3 23ms 6ms 7ms (ip **-*-*-**.ph.ph.cox.net)
4 22ms 8ms 27ms **.*.**.*
5 7ms 10ms 9ms **.*.**.*
6 13ms 23ms 14ms **.*.**.*
7 16ms 11ms 10ms chndsrj01.ae2.o.rd.ph.cox.net
8 19ms 10ms 11ms te-1-4.car1.phoenix1.leve13.net
9 12ms 13ms 13ms ae-aa-aa.car2.phoenix2.level3.net
10 33ms 20ms 19ms ae-4-4.ebr2.losangeles1.level13.net
11 24ms 22ms 22ms ae-2-56.edge1.losangeles1.leve13.net
12 23ms 21ms 24ms verisondusiness-level3-oc48.losangeles1.level12.net
13 25ms 29ms 20ms 0.so-7-0-0.xl1.lax15.alternet
14 127ms 126ms 101ms 0.so-2-1-3.xt1.alt5.alter.net
15ms 103ms 126ms 101ms pos6-0.gw6.alt5.atler.net
16 109ms 126ms 126ms logisouth-gw.customer.alter.net
17 103ms 126ms 126ms Cains COD4 server.

darth_nevus
5th Dec 2007, 09:08 AM
usually its a hang up or dns issue in that server, waiting it out is usually the best, since 9/10 times the tech for the routing server just don't care...

mapes
5th Dec 2007, 12:46 PM
Is it consistently like that? Most likely the cause is a firewall or some type of traffic shaping. DNS shouldn't affect it as your using IP's and FQDN.

{CLR}geneSW
5th Dec 2007, 07:10 PM
that's my ping all the time though, doesn't matter day or night or anything else. I find it very odd that one of the last jumps to the server is what causes me to go up so high.

mapes
5th Dec 2007, 07:25 PM
I don't


{CLR}seikoAF Location: arizona, phoenix


Cain Location: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Thats prolly when you hit the backbone and traverse the USA. Considering your going through LA


verisondusiness-level3-oc48.losangeles1.level12.net

So all of those small latencies are between you in Phoenix and LA. Then you jump from LA to South Carolina

{CLR}geneSW
5th Dec 2007, 09:54 PM
ah ok. why the heck do I go through la? little odd... thought i'd head over to atlanta or somewhere like that instead of la..

mapes
5th Dec 2007, 11:28 PM
ah ok. why the heck do I go through la? little odd... thought i'd head over to atlanta or somewhere like that instead of la..

It has to do with how your carrier or ISP leases lines and does their provisioning.

Slaughter
6th Dec 2007, 10:15 AM
Routing doesn't always go in the directions you might think. The Altanta hops via ALTER.NET have typically been issues for some when connecting to the server at LogicSouth.

-Bar
6th Dec 2007, 01:29 PM
Do you experience this with all Cain's games of just COD4 ?? I normally Ping around 50 on Cain's servers but in COD4 I ping between 100 - 150... Sometimes it spikes above 200.

{CLR}geneSW
6th Dec 2007, 10:10 PM
Do you experience this with all Cain's games of just COD4 ?? I normally Ping around 50 on Cain's servers but in COD4 I ping between 100 - 150... Sometimes it spikes above 200.

after the move down to phoenix yes, but I can ping to another server in the same general area and get almost half the ping... Prehaps I should contact my ISp and see what's up?