PDA

View Full Version : Whats the difference between vista oem and regular vista?



BenKenobi
6th Jan 2008, 06:53 PM
^^^

Ghost_Rain
6th Jan 2008, 07:12 PM
The Package is the only diffence.

WalkinTarget
6th Jan 2008, 07:41 PM
IIRC, the OEM install is tied to the mainboard you first install it on, whereas the retail version would allow you to transfer it from an older PC to a newer one, under the condition that you will not be using the old license tied to the older PC.

Also, it appears that the free Ultimate version they are giving away (see my Free Vista - but it loads spyware thread) comes with both a 32 and 64 bit key, so it looks like you can install both versions of Vista on separate PCs. Make that TWO free copies of Vista Ultimate !

Tails_Kitsune
6th Jan 2008, 07:55 PM
IIRC, the OEM install is tied to the mainboard you first install it on, whereas the retail version would allow you to transfer it from an older PC to a newer one, under the condition that you will not be using the old license tied to the older PC.

Also, it appears that the free Ultimate version they are giving away (see my Free Vista - but it loads spyware thread) comes with both a 32 and 64 bit key, so it looks like you can install both versions of Vista on separate PCs. Make that TWO free copies of Vista Ultimate !

How do you recall all of this stuff off the top of your head?

I wanna be just like WalkinTarget when I grow up! :D :D

WalkinTarget
6th Jan 2008, 08:47 PM
Tails, you're just mad cause I fragged ya on CoD !!!
:P
That won't happen often either. I read a lot, and its been my job to know this type of stuff for almost 11 years now. I specialize in hardware, but wish I knew more software .. hell, I can't even figure out Word or Powerpoint without some guessing.

TheSilentAssassin
6th Jan 2008, 08:50 PM
Tails, you're just mad cause I fragged ya on CoD !!!
:P
That won't happen often either. I read a lot, and its been my job to know this type of stuff for almost 11 years now. I specialize in hardware, but wish I knew more software .. hell, I can't even figure out Word or Powerpoint without some guessing.

It does take some insane skills to mod a graphics card...LOL

juneau
6th Jan 2008, 09:03 PM
IIRC, the OEM install is tied to the mainboard you first install it on, whereas the retail version would allow you to transfer it from an older PC to a newer one, under the condition that you will not be using the old license tied to the older PC.

Also, it appears that the free Ultimate version they are giving away (see my Free Vista - but it loads spyware thread) comes with both a 32 and 64 bit key, so it looks like you can install both versions of Vista on separate PCs. Make that TWO free copies of Vista Ultimate !

QFT. :D

Tails_Kitsune
6th Jan 2008, 10:52 PM
Tails, you're just mad cause I fragged ya on CoD !!!
:P
That won't happen often either. I read a lot, and its been my job to know this type of stuff for almost 11 years now. I specialize in hardware, but wish I knew more software .. hell, I can't even figure out Word or Powerpoint without some guessing.

Fragging is all in good fun. You know I wouldn't hold a grudge. :D (Though I was miffed I couldn't frag you back. :P :D )

Word, Powerpoint, heck, anything bundled in "Microsoft Office 2007" is a complete and utter mess.

imlittlev
6th Jan 2008, 11:35 PM
correction: M!cro$0ft!

Duke{CLR}
7th Jan 2008, 12:36 PM
I have heard from guys who have changed their MB that if you call a number they will still let you reactivate the licence. I will let you know how it works whenever I get my MB upgrade.

Ghost_Rain
7th Jan 2008, 12:43 PM
I have heard from guys who have changed their MB that if you call a number they will still let you reactivate the licence. I will let you know how it works whenever I get my MB upgrade.

Please do mate, it just I have 750i Mobo on order and I don't want to but a new copy of vista unless I after to :D

WalkinTarget
7th Jan 2008, 12:53 PM
It is entirely up to MS as to whether they allow you to transfer it over, but in the past this has been a HUGE loophole for people looking to make their OEM copy a retail copy and get around the restriction.

Having said that, I personally have called in at least a dozen times for a work PC and they always ask the same questions, and I always get a number from them to activate it. The work PCs are all OEM copies as well, and we aren't shuffling boards in them either.

I have yet to hear of someone getting flagged by the call-in process, but there's a first time for everything.

darth_nevus
7th Jan 2008, 01:20 PM
There is ALOT more difference to OEM and regular.

the biggest one is service. With OEM, the builder of the PC(i.e. you, since you built it) is required to provide support. with regular, you get M$'s help. there are quite a few other differences as well, like the one WT listed.

Oh, btw WT, if you don't have a need for the 64bit key, i could use it :)

WalkinTarget
7th Jan 2008, 03:32 PM
<- sends Darth the 32 bit key and laughs long and hard about it. The laughter comes back again and again, day after day, whenever WT thinks of what he has done, with a chuckle and a sly grin afterwards imagining the look on Darth's face when he goes to install his new '64 bit' OS, only to scratch his head and wonder what went wrong when he can only see 2.7gb of his new 4gb RAM.

:mutley: :trolls:

WT: Must be some trojan on your hard drive, like the ones that came out from Maxtor .. remember that fiasco late last year ???
Darth: Yeaaa, now that you mention it ... crap ... so what do I do now ??
WT: Fdisk /mbr, Format, low level 1s and 0s ... then start over. Sux 2 B U !!!!