PDA

View Full Version : A little overclocking fun, just hit 14285:)



Devilguns
16th Jan 2008, 01:02 AM
Best to do this now before people smite my scores with the upcoming Nvidia/Intel releases lol.

Before OCing my score was, 11742



http://www.heavyillustrations.com/temp/13553b.jpg

Before over clocking stock speeds are:
FSB 333
CPU 2.66
Ram 800

8800gts 670 core 970 memory

After Over Clock:
FSB 400
CPU 3.2
Ram 920

8000gts 780 core 1035 memory

What an upgrade From my P4 7800GS combo.
I still can not get over how solid these core duos are.

http://www.heavyillustrations.com/temp/13553.jpg
Right now everything is on stock voltage. I know with a few more tweaks I'll be able to push it up into the fourteens :twisted:

[edited for added info]

darth_nevus
16th Jan 2008, 09:36 AM
rofl. that is too funny!

nice job! what board are you using? cpu cooler? and voltage?

juneau
16th Jan 2008, 10:17 AM
rofl. that is too funny!

nice job! what board are you using? cpu cooler? and voltage?

+1

I'm going to be overclocking mine soon. :D

Duke{CLR}
16th Jan 2008, 10:31 AM
It's nice to see the fruits of the OC. :2thumbs:

Devilguns
16th Jan 2008, 11:13 AM
For the mobo I'm using the Blood Iron from DFI.

CPU cooler uses water, the Zalman reserator.

Crucial Ballistix ram 4 gigs ddr 800

CPU voltage is 1.16

I'm running into a hiccup now with my ram. Seems like it'll only go up to a 1000 if I relax the timings to CL5 resulting up to a 3.4ghz oc. I'm trying to unlink it from the cpu to set it at the factory timings of CL4 800. I've seen this board with same exact hardware make 3.6-3.7 with the ram set at 800. I should be happy with what I have but it's so much fun to push something beyond spec.

I had real scare this morning though lol. Messing around with the memory timings I had a really bad boot in vwhich resetting the bios jumper did nothing. No monitor just rapid beeping (memory error). Just a tad panicky on a whim I disconnected the power, pulled the system battery and made a promise to God that I'll probably never keep and got it to boot lol.

I know DFI boards have a fail safe bios key press when powering on but for the life of me I couldn't remember it.

WalkinTarget
16th Jan 2008, 01:05 PM
45,992 for a top score ??? That should be achievable !! Just keep loading up on the voltage til you see sparks when you start it up, then back it down .001 volts.
:mutley:

Yep, the scary moments when you don't get that green light on the monitor are the worst ... I hate it when it stays amber !!!
Three cheers to the guy that decided to make the CMOS reset a simple button press on the mainboard.

Devilguns
16th Jan 2008, 03:09 PM
I was finally able to hit into the 14s, I is teh fastest for 5 similar systems, at least until tonight lol


http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=4730729

http://www.heavyillustrations.com/temp/14285.jpg

I finally got the voltages adjusted where windows and games work.

http://www.heavyillustrations.com/temp/14285a.jpg

I think this is the best I'm going to do with stock card cooling. From what I've seen of this board/cpu/ram/vid card combo this is probably as good as I'm going to get right now. I'm going to run Orthos and see what happens next. All in all I'm pretty happy with the results. As geeky as this sounds it was pretty exciting to see triple digit fps at points in return to proxycon lol.

pigworthy
16th Jan 2008, 03:16 PM
Nice! :2thumbs:

Duke{CLR}
16th Jan 2008, 03:19 PM
It looks like you are having a fun time. Nice score!

juneau
16th Jan 2008, 04:37 PM
1.16 volts? :shock:

My e6750 defaults at 1.35v.

Devilguns
16th Jan 2008, 04:58 PM
1.16 was at 3.2 That was with the bios setting set to auto.

I was running into problems getting past 3.4
They have a thread in the over clockers forum on the Blood Iron:
http://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/251387-dfi-blood-iron-thread-79.html

A guy there has very similar specs to mine. I copied his settings and now my voltage is set at 1.55 to hit the 3.6:o Before tweaking the voltage, windows would just load and would hang at the welcome screen. Temps haven't really changed so I'm not too worried. The E6750 + Blood Iron = that voltage seems to be standard for a 3.6 oc from what I've seen so far. Not bad for a board that retails for about $110.00

Despite a couple of oh s**t moments things went smoother than I thought. This is the first time I over clocked anything.

WalkinTarget
16th Jan 2008, 08:46 PM
This is the first time I over clocked anything.

Thats what I was saying in 1997 with my Celeron 300A with a piece of black masking tape covering pin 21 on that bad boy !! Every PC that I have is OC'd, some mild, some wild. I always buy the chip with the intention of seeing what it'll do, and so far I have yet to damage any, but it sure is fun when it all works out well.

Devilguns
16th Jan 2008, 09:14 PM
Thats funny WT, I've been in the PC hobby for 12+ years and never really messed with it because I always thought it was beyond my skill. In truth I guess it was, but I've just been reading up so much on it I was like, ok I can do this. It also helped to find about three guys who had the same Mobo, Proc, and Ram as me on Overclockers lol.


All in all I picked up around 10-15 fps depending on the game and for spending sub $900.00 on a system, not a bad score. Was it really worth it? Eh, for the sake of learning yes. In reality I haven't noticed a difference visually, everything looked and ran great as it was. Don't get me wrong I had a lot of fun. I guess rather than looking for performance it was more of a case of proving to myself, ok you big dummy you can do this. :lol:

drunken_chef
16th Jan 2008, 09:42 PM
i also have overclocked every CPU I've owned. starting with a 486DX2-66 overclocked to a 100 MHz

Devilguns
16th Jan 2008, 10:20 PM
Ah the 486DX2-66 with math co-processor. I had that in my first computer, a Gateway. Came with 8 megs of ram and a 40 meg WD hard drive. That coupled with a 15" was a steal at $2,500.00 I later got an additional 8 megs of ram for only $400.00 lol, the memories.