PDA

View Full Version : RAID issues.



Duke{CLR}
8th Feb 2008, 06:06 PM
I was able to set up a RAID 5 while installing windows Vista. I then loaded the Nvidia drivers and I started to get a red "degraded" warning in both the BIOS during boot up and when I click on the Storage tab in my Nvidia control panel. In the pic below it shows two drive shouldn't there be three? I checked all the plugs and the seem to be in order. I am wondering if it was a Nvidia driver issue and if it were would I be able to load up the windows drivers at this point?

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/9383/degradebe3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

mapes
8th Feb 2008, 09:39 PM
unfortunately I can't help you I don't know how the NVidia raid controllers work. Did you have to install the raid drivers when you installed the OS or did you create the RAID in the MB bios?

Duke{CLR}
8th Feb 2008, 10:24 PM
I created the RAID in the BIOS then I loaded the Nvidia drivers. I tried plugging the drives in other ports and I ended up with a whole other RAID :? So I decided to go into the BIOS and remake the RAID which then dumped the OS so I had to start over. I wont get into the details but during the second installation I discovered the bone head maneuver that I pulled and now all is well.

I am the proud daddy of a RAID 5. :D

Nomadicus
10th Feb 2008, 10:45 AM
Glad you got it fixed, but out of curiosity, I only see 2 physical disks. RAID5 requires a minimum of 3 disks. Where is the third? Or was that the bonehead maneuver?

Duke{CLR}
10th Feb 2008, 02:10 PM
I screwed up the first loading of the RAID drivers by rebooting after I had what I thought was a lockup. The second time when I got to the dark screen with the blinking cursor I just played a few rounds of Lego Star Wars with my son. After letting that run its way through there were several options in the storage tab that weren't there before and all three drives were revealed. :D

http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/3038/goodraidvl2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

drunken_chef
10th Feb 2008, 03:58 PM
I see that the (I assume)thinner drive does have a stightly different model number.