PDA

View Full Version : Internet Browser Issues.



th3st1ck
10th Feb 2008, 05:58 PM
Well, i'm having some issues.

I cannot access the internet via Firefox or Opera. I must use Internet Explorer :P

Everything was going fine, until I rebooted my computer last night and I couldn't access the internet. I rebooted again, and got the same result. I finally opened up IE(which I never use) and it worked. So I went into FF to make sure I didnt have it set up to try and connect through a proxy or anything, and all the settings were like normal.

After some messing around, I realized I could connect to website that used ports other then 80. I'm guessing somehow something blocked port 80 in firefox and opera? but not IE?

I have the latest versions of all 3 of those browsers. And I don't think I've recently installed or updated anything.


Help please? :shock:

marvindecrain
10th Feb 2008, 06:13 PM
For firefox:
check wat type of connection do You have and set this in firefox settings.
I`m using DSL and I have "direct internet connection" without any proxy server or something else. :)

th3st1ck
10th Feb 2008, 06:14 PM
yeah, i set it to "direct internet connection"

still doesnt work.

marvindecrain
10th Feb 2008, 06:20 PM
Try to reinstall Firefox, or check Antivirus software and again firewall settings.

th3st1ck
10th Feb 2008, 06:39 PM
I didnt want to lose anything, so i just installed FF in a different location, works fine now.

that was odd...

marvindecrain
10th Feb 2008, 07:16 PM
All bookmarks and favorites can be exported to file... so You don`t lose anything. :)
But if now working fine thats good news :2thumbs:

mapes
11th Feb 2008, 12:38 PM
I would still check for spyware, adware and viruses. There are some that make some changes to your stack and would affect your system in this way.

WalkinTarget
11th Feb 2008, 12:44 PM
Download and run a program called WinsockFix. Its very small and I use it on all infected PCs, so whether yours has a bug or not, its worth the effort.

th3st1ck
11th Feb 2008, 03:01 PM
I would still check for spyware, adware and viruses. There are some that make some changes to your stack and would affect your system in this way.

nah, its not spyware or viruses.
i got +5 programs for all that ;)
just in case im doing a full system scan, so the server might be a bit slower


i believe its a program i installed that messed it up, but its all good now