Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Still afraid of Linux?

http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post...4-alpha-5.html

brilliant.. just brilliant. Ubuntu Linux, installed as a windows app. and uninstalled just as easily.

this won't crub all the windows user, but it makes for an easier transistion to linux if you want to go that route. this also allows you to test it out, without partitions, live CD's, etc. its just there!

thanks for the link Darth.

I have been running Ubuntu on my laptop for the past 2 years. It is a wonderful transition for non-techies like me.

Comment

Very nice

Now I just need a reason to run Linux other than "just cuz"

Comment

You'll like it! I've been running linux for the last 12 years (give or take) but mine doesn't have an interface, only command line, but I have tried several different distros. If you have a high speed internet connection (I think everyone here does) and you have considered the option of running your own webserver, email server, firewall, gateway, router, file server, game server, mp3 server, VOIP, then you might wanna check out the distro that I've been running for the last ten years: Click Here

All you need is a PC (it doesn't have to be new) with two different lan cards (if they are identical it can cause issues with drivers) and a big enough hard drive for serving files or a website. The software (home version) is free to use in a non-commercial environment. It can be configured remotely and you can purchase a domain name for 25.00 from CC and have your own website and email domain. You do NOT have to have a static I.P. address either. I'm not advertising for them, just a firm believer and satisfied customer.

~~mike~~

Comment

Thanks for the linkage Darth.

Comment

Yeah, thanks for the link. I'm gonna be putting it on a client's machine when I get to my other job.

Comment

Originally posted by -IRC-MIKE
              You'll like it!
              LOL

Isnt that what Mac users say all the time?